(Belated) Talk Like a Pirate Day!

I just finished handing out candy for Talk Like a Pirate Day (well technically the day after TLaPD), and it was a huge success!  I showed up outside Leonard Hall at about 10:15, and started talking like a pirate, inviting lads, lasses and scurvy scalawags to get some candy and flyers from the SSA.

There were two main types of people that I noticed today . The first was probably the majority – those that ignored me.  Lots of them were listening to their iPods. Earbuds seem to be the bane of a hawker’s existence.  The next group of people was those who   really reacted.  I mean I’m a guy dressed and talking like a pirate handing out candy – it’s funny!  I really enjoyed bringing a smile to their faces. A few people even told me I made their day!

I decided not to hand out Flying Spaghetti Monster propaganda today, though the original plan included it. I think that it’s a joke that a lot of people won’t get; people who aren’t already atheists or skeptics generally don’t understand it from my experience. Plus, though it is poking gentle fun at religion, it’s still poking fun at it, and I wanted to take as gentle an approach as possible today.  Only one person got the FSM connection though – and he was a Christian. He was pretty cool about it though, and I really appreciated that.

The oak grove preacher showed up for a few minutes today. He stayed in his usual spot, about forty feet away from me.  When he started talking, I naturally increased the volume of my hawking for the SSA. After about fifteen minutes, he left.  I’m not sure if it was because of me; I was planning on talking to him at some point about the SSA.

By about 11:45 or so, we had finished handing out candy, so we decided to call it a day. Overall, I’d have to  call this event a success! … At that point I got a text from Christine, who hadn’t gotten the message that it was over.  I found a few pieces of candy and went forth once more into the breach!

Finally, another interesting point that I noticed. I expected that the best times to get people to take flyers and candy would be the fifteen minutes between classes.  I was wrong – the more people that walk by you at the same time, the harder it is to address individuals, and the easier it is for them to  ignore you. While classes were going on, I was able to talk to individuals as the passed me, and got a lot more people to take candy. Food for thought – sometimes quantity isn’t as good as quality.

May the wind always be at yer sails!

– Steve

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

